Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Manning Innovation Awards

The Manning Innovation Awards recognize and reward Canadians who have conceived, developed and successfully marketed an innovative product or process. The awards have recognized innovators from a variety of disciplines including Agriculture, Aviation, Civil Engineering, Communications, Medical Science, Submarine Engineering and the Environment.

Award Details 

The Foundation annually awards $100,000 for the Encana Principal Award, $25,000 for the David E. Mitchell Award of Distinction, and $5,000 each for up to two Innovation Awards, which are reserved for those without the benefit of research facilities or advanced education in the field of their innovation.

Deadline: This competition closes December 17, 2018

Nomination Details

Eligibility Requirements:

  • Nominees must be Canadian citizens residing in Canada
  • Innovations must be successful, either commercially or among the intended end users
  • Innovations must be current and demonstrate elements as outlined in the Scoring Criteria
  • Innovations may be from any sector

Note: Submissions which focus on lifetime achievement, multiple projects, or innovative work not yet proven in the intended marketplace WILL NOT be accepted for evaluation.

Scoring Criteria can be found here

Nomination Form can be found here 



Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise, Prizes & Awards Manager in the Office of the Vice-President, Research regarding this award and the nomination process for 2018.

t: 905-525-9140 extension 27419