Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Killam Prizes

Administered by the Canada Council for the Arts, the Killam Prizes (distinct from the Killam Fellowships) are among Canada’s most prestigious and distinguished research awards. Five unrestricted, non-taxable prizes of $100,000 are awarded annually to provide support to Canadian scholars of exceptional ability who are actively engaged in research of broad significance and widespread interest. One prize is awarded in each of the following fields: humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and engineering. Nominations are to be made by an expert in the nominee’s field.

Nomination Process

A complete nomination package will consist of the following:

  • the online nomination form
  • copy of proof of Canadian citizenship (e.g., passport photocopy);
  • original, signed nomination letter;
  • two-page description of the nature of the nominee’s research and distinguished contributions, including why s/he should be considered for the prize (may be part of nomination letter);
  • one-page biography of the nominee, summarizing education, distinguished research achievements, current research interests, and honours and awards;
  • nominee’s CV, including a list of publications and/or professional activities;
  • up to three supporting letters from experts in the nominee's field


Nomination packages must be sent by mail to:

Killam Program
Prizes Section
Canada Council for the Arts
150 Elgin Street, P.O. Box 1047
Ottawa ON K1P 5V8


The nomination submission deadline is June 15, 2018; Internal Deadline May 15, 2018



Potential nominators and nominees are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise, Prizes & Awards Manager email telephone 525.9140 x27419