Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Harvey Prize

The Harvey Prize is awarded annually in a variety of disciplines within the categories of Science & Technology and Human Health. The Harvey Prize has also been awarded for Contribution to Peace in the Middle East.

Harvey PrizeSPONSOR

Technion - Israel Institute of Technology

Sponsor deadline: Tuesday, February 7, 2017


The Harvey Prize is derived from a donation made by the Lena P. Harvey Foundation to the American Technion Society in September 1971. Two awards of $75,000 each are made annually. The prize winners receive their awards at the Technion. 


Nomination Process

Harvey Prize winners are selected by a council of world-renowned scientists and experts in each field through a rigorous selection process. The Harvey Prize Council, comprised of the President of the Technion, one Vice-President, Dean of the Graduate School, two representatives of both the Israel National Academy of Science and the Technion Senate, reviews all nominations. The Council then makes recommendations, which are scrutinized by professional evaluation committees in the respective fields, and then to the Technion Senate Committee for Honorary Degrees and Prizes. Once the Harvey family and the American Technion Society (ATS) have been formally notified of the choice of finalists, the President of the Technion informs the awardees of their impending honor.

  1. All nominations should be submitted in writing, accompanied by material to facilitate the evaluation of candidates. Please use a separate form for each candidate.
  2. The following people can submit one or more nominations:
    1. Members of the Board of Governors of the Technion and of the Technion Senate.
    2. Harvey Prize Laureates.
    3. Members of National Academies of Science and Engineering.
    4. Presidents, Vice-Presidents, and Deans of recognized institutions of their higher learning and research in Israel and abroad.
  3. Self nominations are not will not be accepted.
  4. Technion academic staff, including emeriti, as well as members of the Board of Governors cannot be nominated for the prize.
  5. Nominators are requested not to inform the proposed candidates of their candidacy.
  6. Nominations should be made in the name on behalf of individuals, and not of institutions or organizations.

Nomination Form can be found here

Web site:


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise, Prizes & Awards Manager in the Office of the Vice-President, Research regarding this award and the nomination process.

e: t: 905-525-9140 extension 27419