Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Gerda Henkel Prize

The Gerda Henkel Prize was set up in 2006 and is awarded every two years to excellent and internationally acclaimed researchers who have demonstrated outstanding scholarly achievement in the disciplines and funding areas supported by the Foundation and can be expected to continue to do so. The Gerda Henkel Prize is worth 100,000 euros. The prize money may be used at the winner’s discretion.

Prize Details 

Awarded every 2 years; next call will be in Fall of 2019 for 2020 deadline

Research in the following fields is supported:

  • Archaeology
  • History, Art History, History of Law, History of Science, Prehistory and Early History, Historic Islamic Studies
  • “Islam, the Modern Nation State, and Transnational Movements”
  • “Security, Society and the State”

Nomination Details 

A complete nomination package will consist of:

  • The online nomination form
  • The reasoning for the proposal
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae
  • A list of the nominee’s most important academic publications from the last five years.


The next deadline will be in 2020


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise, Prizes & Awards Manager in the Office of the Vice-President, Research regarding this award and the nomination process.

e: t: 905-525-9140 extension 27419