Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools
You are here: Research @ McMaster > Major Prizes and Awards > Major Prizes & Awards Opportunities & Deadlines > Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureate

Canadian Medical Hall of Fame Laureate

The Canadian Medical Hall of Fame honours Canada’s medical heroes, aiming to thereby inspire youth to pursue careers in the health sciences. Inductees’ outstanding and pioneering contributions to health science, whether single meritorious contributions or lifetimes of accomplishment, have led to extraordinary improvements in human health. While a significant proportion of laureates are scientists, the Hall seeks to be representative of the full breadth of health leadership and excellence in research, clinical care, illness prevention, education, and health administration. Six nominees are inducted each year.


Individuals or organizations can nominate individuals for induction.

Nominees must be either:
• Canadian citizens or
• non-citizens for whom the achievement(s) under consideration was/were largely developed while living in Canada.

Nominees may be recognized for their leadership in one or more of the following categories:
1. Building excellence in health
2. Health promotion, illness prevention, and care
3. Research, with national and international recognition for a scientific contribution

Nomination Process

A complete nomination package will consist of:

  1. Nomination letter:
    • For nomination by individuals, two separate letters or one co-signed letter
    • For nomination by an organization, one nomination letter signed on its behalf

  2. Nomination form (online at

  3. • Includes a 250 word citation clearly stating the contribution(s) justifying induction

  4. Nominee's CV
  5. One-page biography providing essential details about the nominee's reputation
  6. Two supporting letters (for category 3 at least one should be international)
  7. Optional: additional documents (max. 6 pages) which can include artiles, news items, addditional letters, etc.


The final submission deadline is Monday, June 25, 2018


Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise regarding this award and the nomination process.