Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

Canada Gairdner Wightman Award 2018

The Canada Gairdner Wightman Award is given annually to a Canadian who has demonstrated outstanding leadership in medicine and medical science in Canada. It is awarded for (1) leadership in a specific field of biomedical sciences in Canada (basic, clinical, population health) and/or original, sustained contributions to that field internationally; and (2) for institutional, academic, and scientific leadership leading to biomedical research establishment/development in Canada and internationally. The award is worth $100,000.


Recipients are often in the middle of productive careers, highly published, and:

  • Fellows of the Royal Society of Canada
  • Companions/Officers/Members of the Order of Canada
  • Fellows of the Royal College of Physicians
  • Members of Provincial Orders

Nomination Process

Nominations for 2018 should be received no later than October 1, 2017. (Please note that this is a strict deadline date) Nominations received after this date will be considered the following year.

Nomination can be made by anyone who knows the nominee and his/her work well enough to write a competitive nomination letter.

A complete nomination package will consist of:

  • introduction/summary of leadership contribution to medicine in Canada (150 words)
  • brief biography (academic/administrative/research positions, awards and recognitions), and identify five top publications
  • analytical outline of how/why nominee’s leadership has advanced medicine in Canada and/or internationally, and what distinguishes it from the work of others
  • analytically present the life-long scientific contribution of the Nominee.
  • full CV, bibliography, and contact sheet listing full position, titles, letters, business contact
  • at least two letters of support from international scientists familiar with the work

Please submit nominations in electronic format to



Interested parties are encouraged to consult with Danelle D'Alvise, Prizes & Awards Manager, regarding this award and the nomination process.

Phone: 905.525.9140 x27419