Skip to McMaster Navigation Skip to Site Navigation Skip to main content
McMaster logo

About the DRCP

A three-year initiative to build a more connected, capable, and researcher-focused approach to digital research support.


To build a more connected, capable, and researcher-focused approach to digital research support, which will improve access to systems, services, software, and training for researchers across the institution.


The Digital Research Commons Pilot (DRCP) will build into and around existing digital research support so that:

  1. Researchers can easily find and use the services, systems, training, and resources they need to succeed in their research.
  2. Service providers and support units can collaborate to identify support gaps and develop complementary and shared services that meet diverse needs across campus.

Key Functions

  • Engage with the community: Identify needs, gaps, and opportunities for collaboration and co-create a vision for coordinated digital research support.
  • Develop shared resources, services, and communities: Pilot the delivery of shared resources, services, and communities that require coordinated governance, with an initial focus on research data management, research IT security, research impact, and online data collection.
  • Provide researchers with a single support interface: Compile and present information about local, provincial, or national services and training opportunities and deliver support services to help researchers find what they need.
  • Assess our approach: Continuously assess and refine our approaches to guide efforts during and beyond the pilot using the Context, Input, Process & Product (CIPP) program evaluation.

The DRCP is supported by the Provost’s Strategic Alignment Fund and is co-sponsored by Karen Mossman (Vice President, Research), Vivian Lewis (University Librarian), and Gayleen Gray (Associate Vice President & Chief Technology Officer).

The pilot is being led by members of the sponsoring groups: Jay Brodeur (University Library), Angela Di Nello (RHPCS), Ranil Sonnadara (Office of the VPR), and Tracy Dallaire (Office of the AVP and CTO).